Tuesday Tips: Want to be a better writer? Write!

Before I started this blog, I was coaching someone who sincerely wanted to know what the secret was to being a better writer. I told him it was no secret–he had to write. A lot.

I told him a few more ideas and the result is this blog post which I put up over at Whisper Down The Write Alley, which is the blog I started back in January 2008 for my college students (and which averages 75 page views a day during the past two years).

To get better at writing you have to write. A lot. Every day. For at least 20 minutes if not an hour. Pulitzer Prize winner columnist, university writing teacher, and author of many textbooks Donald Murray says “Never a day without a line.” So write something, anything, every day. Want one of his books? My favorite is The Craft of Revision. Julia Cameron, author of The Artists Way, suggests creative types of all kinds write three pages in a noteb … Read More

via whisper down the write alley

Leave a Reply

